LOLS10在线直播下注

October 1st Webinar: Camera Simulation with COMSOL Multiphysics®

Oct 1st, 2020

This webcast will be held on October 1, 2020
2:00 PM EDT / 1:00 PM CDT / 11:00 AM PDT / 6:00 PM GMT

Cameras come in all shapes and sizes. From compact, lightweight cellphone cameras, to airplanes and automobiles, to the high-powered telescopes peering into deep space, cameras are designed for myriad purposes and must operate effectively in diverse environments.

To accurately predict how well a camera will perform, an optical designer must consider factors such as monochromatic optical aberrations, stray light, and possibly even structural deformation and thermal stress. The COMSOL Multiphysics® software is tailor-made to account for all of these phenomena in an all-encompassing simulation software suite. Join us for this webinar, in which we'll introduce the optical ray tracing functionality of the COMSOL® software. We will showcase some functionality for setting up detailed geometries, tracing rays, and postprocessing. We will also discuss how to incorporate this ray tracing functionality into a coupled structural-thermal-optical performance (STOP) analysis model.

Image simulation in COMSOL can be performed by first importing a bitmap or creating a geometric entity to act as the object, then performing a finite conjugate ray trace through a lens system. As the rays reach the image plane, the image is then reconstructed. Here, a simple double Gauss lens system is used.

Sponsored by

Presesnted by:
Christopher Boucher
Christopher Boucher
Technical Product Manager
COMSOL
LOLS10在线直播下注Chris Boucher is the technical product manager for the Particle Tracing Module and Ray Optics Module. He received his BS degree in aerospace engineering and physics from Worcester Polytechnic Institute (WPI) before joining COMSOL in 2012.

Moderated by:

Moderator:  John Wallace
John Wallace
Senior Editor
Laser Focus World